The Department of Defence Production.—The Department of Defence Production was established on Apr. 1, 1951, under the provisions of the Defence Production Act, 1951, which gave the Department a statutory life of five years. Under the Defence Production Act the powers, duties and functions that were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, and the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, were transferred to the Minister of Defence Production. The Defence Production Act repealed the Essential Materials (Defence) Act, 1950-51.

Briefly, its task is to co-ordinate the effort required of the Canadian economy in producing armaments necessary to implement the terms of the North Atlantic Treaty and to co-ordinate the production and purchasing of the requirements of the Armed Forces. The four main units are the Production Branch, the General Purchasing Branch, the Materials Branch and the Aircraft Division. Supporting them are various administrative and service units such as the Economic and Statistics, Legal, Administration, and Comptroller's Branches, the Financial Adviser's Office and Small Industries Division.

The following Crown companies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, Polymer Corporation Limited, Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited, Northern Transportation Company Limited, and Canadian Commercial Corporation.

The Department of External Affairs.—The main function of this Department is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad.

The Department is headed by the Secretary of State for External Affairs. At the head of the staff is the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, with a Deputy Under-Secretary and three Assistant Under-Secretaries. They are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, formally designated Counsellors, and First, Second and Third Secretaries.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is carried on through the following Divisions: the geographical Divisions are the Commonwealth, European, American and Far Eastern; the functional Divisions are the Consular, Defence Liaison, Economic, Information, Legal, Protocol, and United Nations; the "housekeeping" Divisions are Establishments and Organization, Finance, and Personnel. There are two related special sections, Supplies and Properties, and International Conferences. The archives and departmental library are incorporated in a Historical Research and Reports Section and a Press Office arranges press conferences and issues press releases.

The Department of Finance.—The Department of Finance, created in June 1868, is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada. It is responsible for the raising of the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements.

The work of the Department is organized in six principal Divisions: Administration, Accounting, Treasury Board, Taxation, Economic Policy, and the Comptroller of the Treasury. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department and the Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department.

The Tariff Board and the Canadian Farm Loan Board are responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

The Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and fresh-water fisheries is with the Federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish-culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is also represented on the International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission, the International Fisheries Commission (Halibut), the International Commission for the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries and the International North Pacific Fisheries Commission.

The Department of Insurance.—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875. Under the Superintendent of Insurance, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, trust and loan companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated